Jack of all trades, master of none

I know what you’re thinking: “How can one guy be good at photography, music, martial arts, writing, etc.?”  Well, someone more talented and naturally gifted than me might be, but I see my enthusiasm and enjoyment in these arts as being higher than my skill in them. I have to struggle and spend a lot of time to build skill in anything, and my time is limited. I have a family and a full-time job.

There is also a Japanese saying (if you follow my quotes posts, you’ll see I like Asian proverbs) that “the hawk which chases two hares catches none”. I’m chasing a lot more than two hares! So I don’t expect to be a virtuoso or complete success at any of these pursuits. I just do them because it’s what I enjoy.

One thought on “Jack of all trades, master of none

Leave a Reply

