Snapseed + iPhone

I make my living as an accountant, so you can imagine there’s nothing really interesting around my workplace or office to take pictures of.  But I just installed Snapseed for iOS on my iPhone 4S and tried it out on my lunch break, sitting at my desk.

My expectations were low, considering that the iPhones lens and image sensor are tiny compared to my big Canon dSLR, and any image editing software for iOS is going to be somewhat limited compared to software for Mac OS-X.  As a side note though, as iPads, iPods, and iPhones get more powerful processors, the gap between their capabilities and that of a desktop or laptop computer are narrowing.

What I did not know, when I downloaded Snapseed and took these photos, was that Snapseed was created by NIK Software, who makes some powerful and impressive plug-ins which I used with Aperture on my Mac. NIK was recently purchased by Google, who has built in functionality to post photos directly to Google Plus, their social media and photo sharing website. Alright, let’s look at some boring pictures from an accountant’s desk!

Pen & Report

Pen & Report

Shiny Steele

Shiny Steele

X Marks the Spot

X Marks the Spot

Death to Staples

Death to Staples

What I like is that most effects, like “Grunge” or “Vintage” have presets which you can try until you find a look you like, then you can tweak the settings to make it more to your liking. There are basic sharpening and contrast adjustments, as well as artistic effects like I’ve used on my paperclips and staple puller, including vignettes and selective focus.

Overall, I’m impressed, given that the app was free and the camera so tiny.  And I wasn’t trying to create art in earnest, just goofing off, really. This makes me wonder if, just as smartphones were the death of PDAs, they will also spell doom for small point & shoot cameras. Why have one, when you can get the same or better (and more customizable) results with a device you carry everywhere with you anyway?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

