Black & White edits

I am lucky to live where I do. I have a busy life as a business professional, husband, and father. But Olympia has a lot of photogenic locations within a few minutes’ drive from the house for those times when I can only get away for an hour or so. And many times, taking my family to scenic parks allows me to shoot some pictures at the same time.  On this trip, I took my 6-year-old to a local park for some “exploring”, and brought my camera bag too.

I liked the combination of the foot bridge and fence, bordered by a bush and tree, but the background is busy and confusing. It has lots of colors and details, but they all kind of blend together and nothing stands out.

Footbridge - edited for sharpness & contrast

Footbridge – edited for sharpness & contrast

I think the bridge should be the focal point, so I converted the image to black and white. Then I used a blue filter to darken the foliage in the background.  The end result, I hope, is to make the bridge more of a central focal point while making the busy background fade and blend enough not to be distracting, as it was in the color image.

Footbridge - B&W conversion

Footbridge – B&W conversion

With the next photo I took a different approach.

Footbridge 2 - edited for contrast & sharpness

Footbridge 2 – edited for contrast & sharpness

I wanted to get a more artistic, sepia effect. I wasn’t going for sharpness, but more of a dreamy, softer look. I also burned the outside edges a bit.  Same composition, but they really look like different photos!

Footbridge 2 - Sepia

Footbridge 2 – Sepia

Leave a Reply

