Seattle as the sun sets…

I have been experimenting with long exposure photography and night-time HDR photos. One afternoon last week I drove up to West Seattle and took some photos from a hillside park with a great view of the downtown area across the water.  I took some HDR photos (bracketed exposures of the same composition) after the sun went down, but I’ll save those for another post.

When I started really getting into film photography around 1993, some people called me “Filter Boy” because I liked to stylize my shots with colored filters.  I grew to appreciate the natural look and moved away from doing that. Another reason to avoid using colored filters on film is that such effects can be added in software if you scan the negative, but you can’t change the negative itself when the sunset is forever an unnatural purple color.  I do use a polarizing filter to cut haze in daytime scenic shots, or graduated neutral density filters to even out exposure, but that’s about making a crisper, better exposed photo, not a more colorful one.

Fast forward to present day… we have some powerful and awesome image editing software!  And it’s quite hard to stop myself from pushing RAW files to be much more colorful and contrasty than the original scenes actually were.  So forgive me if some of these don’t look entirely natural. I was having fun!

Seattle at Sunset

Seattle at Sunset

Seattle Panoramic

Seattle Panoramic

Seattle & Ship

Seattle & Ship

Seattle Building Reflections

Seattle Building Reflections

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

