Fake Color Infrared

I used t0 shoot color positive and negative film, and black & white negative film, but I never used infrared film. I can only imagine how tricky that must have been! Now days, with live view on digital cameras, it’s much easier.

But what I’m doing here is letting my inner filter freak go nuts. I’ve taken some different photos and applied a color infrared filter to them in NIK Color Efex Pro 4.

Fire Bush

Fire Bush

It seems that the more time you spend tweaking the sliders, the more rewarding is the outcome.  But for sure, any notion of a realistic image is out the door!

Pagoda

Pagoda

This is a photo of a small Pagoda that my father-in-law placed in our backyard. The original image just wasn’t that eye-catching. This one is either atrocious or striking, you be the judge.

Murky Pond

Murky Pond

This last image almost looks realistic, but if you saw the original photo… It’s very flat contrast-wise and has very low saturation. It also was shot about 10 years ago with my EOS 10D in JPEG. It really is easier to edit a RAW file, because a JPEG is much more limited in how far you can push it before it starts blocking up or getting dirty. But I didn’t know back then, and even if I did, we didn’t have the user friendly and powerful RAW converter and editing software we have now.

Anyway, just a few examples of what’s possible with Color Efex Pro 4’s Infrared filter.

Leave a Reply

