Little Mashel Falls – Sept. 11

I guess I like this place. It’s about an hour drive from the house and this is the third time I’ve been there this summer.  This time I managed to find a way to get to the upper falls from above, which I could not reach from below last time.

Little Mashel River - above upper falls

Little Mashel River – above upper falls

Little Mashel Falls, Upper

Little Mashel Falls, Upper

Using a polarizer and shooting early under the trees, I had to use a tripod at 100 ISO.  Just as well, because an exposure between 1 to 6 seconds gives a nice blur affect to waterfalls.

 

Little Mashel Falls, Middle

Little Mashel Falls, Middle

This is the middle falls. I edited the photo in Lightroom and gave it an extra boost in NIK Color Efex Pro.

 

Little Mashel Falls, upper

Little Mashel Falls, upper

 

I got out of the gorge around 10:45 when the sun got high enough to create hot spots. Made it home before noon. Then I drove my wife and mother-in-law up to Crystal Mountain resort. I’ve posted other photos I’ve taken from Crystal Peak in the past. Here’s what I got this time:

Mt. Rainier from Crystal Peak

Mt. Rainier from Crystal Peak

In the left of the photo, you can barely make out Mt. Adams. It looks much further away because I was using a wide angle lens. When you get out of the gondola at the peak and look over to see Mt. Rainier, it’s kind of overwhelming.  The landscape and depth of space is so expansive… Makes you feel very small.

Leave a Reply

