Christmas Balls

I haven’t done a shoot in weeks, and since it’s Christmas Day, I decided to choose an appropriate subject.

The Ball Family

The Ball Family

I put these Christmas deco balls on top of a bedroom dresser, with overcast window light.  The basic editing for contrast and sharpening was done in Lightroom, and the rest in NIK Color Efex Pro 4.  I used the EOS 6D with a EF 35mm f/2 IS.  Since the exposure was several seconds, I just sat the camera on the dresser in front of the balls so it would stay still.

 

Joseph, Mary, & Baby Jesus?

Joseph, Mary, & Baby Jesus?

For this image, I edited in NIK Silver Efex Pro 2 and used the local adjustments to restore “selective color”.  The effect is cool because it does restore color, but not the same way the original photo looks.

 

"Oh no! Call 911!"

“Oh no! Call 911!”

In this shot, I used Color Efex Pro 4 to add a faded old photo effect.  I dropped a bulb but decided to make the best of it.

Leave a Reply

