2nd Camera Body for Infrared

Last time I got really wordy talking about my experiment with cropping a high resolution image file as a substitute for not having a longer zoom lens.   This time I don’t have a lot to say that I have not said in previous posts about infrared photography.

Pavement in the Forest - 17mm, 1/10 sec @ f/11

Pavement in the Forest – 17mm, 1/10 sec @ f/11

This is an asphalt trail between animal enclosures at Northwest Trek Wildlife Park.  I like to come here to get photos of wild animals – a lazy alternative to stalking a wild animal for days in rough terrain and inclement weather.

When I realized my Canon EOS 10D body purchased in early 2004 for $1,200 was worth less than $100 on eBay, I had it converted to dedicated infrared.  The “hot mirror” (anti-infrared filter) was removed from over the sensor, and a 720nm filter installed.  I can just use regular lenses with no filters to shoot infrared photos now, and at shutter speeds fast enough to hand hold.  Though I should clarify, the above shot was in very dim shade (not ideal for infrared), and on a tripod.

Winter Lake in August - 17mm, 1/20 @ f/16

Winter Lake in August – 17mm, 1/20 @ f/16

For both of these photos, I used the Split Tone feature in Lightroom 5, after converting the image to black and white.  It applies one color to shadows and another color to highlights, and allows you to control the balance between the two, and the saturation of both.  I’m finding that “less is more” when it comes to color in this type of photo.

Bottom line, it’s really great to be shooting with my Canon 6D (as I was at NW Trek), and then see something that would make a good infrared photo, and be able to pull out my old Canon 10D.

Leave a Reply

