WA State Capitol – Color & Infrared

Here we have two photos taken with the same lens (Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L) and from the same spot.

WA State Capitol - Processed with Color Efex Pro 4

WA State Capitol – Processed with Color Efex Pro 4

This photo was taken with my Canon EOS 6D, processed in Lightroom and finished in NIK Color Efex Pro 4.  I use NIK plugins when I get as good as my current skills allow in Lightroom, but still want something more.

WA State Capitol - Processed in NIK Silver Efex Pro 2

WA State Capitol – Processed in NIK Silver Efex Pro 2

This photo was taken with my infrared converted Canon EOS 10D.  I started out in Lightroom for basic adjustments and sharpening, then finished things in NIK Silver Efex Pro 2.

It’s amazing what happens to foliage and skies with infrared.  I get my best infrared photos when the sun is high and I am shooting away from it.  During the fall season in the Pacific Northwest of the United States, the sun begins to cross the southern sky at a lower angle.  In this shot it was blasting the scene head on from behind me as I faced north.

Leave a Reply

