Singapore from a Motel Window

My wife’s parents are Indonesian, and the first time I visited Indonesia, we stopped in Singapore for a couple days.  I just re-processed some of my pictures from that trip. Here’s the night view from our motel room:

Singapore - 21mm, 3.0 sec @ f/4.0

Singapore – 21mm, 3.0 sec @ f/4.0

This was in December 2009, and I had not learned the value of shooting in RAW format yet. So all my photos were JPEG.  These photos are trickier and more limited in post processing, because the camera has already made a lot of decisions for me, and saved those modifications to the photos permanently.  But I can still get decent results using Lightroom and NIK Software.

Singapore Sunrise - 39mm, 1/60 @ f/4.0

Singapore Sunrise – 39mm, 1/60 @ f/4.0

I am also shaking my head when I see my exposure settings.  “f/4.0? Really?” Granted, aperture makes less of a difference at wider angles, but a smaller aperture would have helped more of this photo to be sharp.  At least I was smart enough to press my lens up against the hotel window to avoid reflections on the glass.

Singapore Sunrise - 40mm, 1/125 @ f/6.7

Singapore Sunrise – 40mm, 1/125 @ f/6.7

Back then, I always shot on “P” (program, auto-exposure) mode.  Now I shoot almost entirely in “A” (aperture priority mode).  I set my aperture for the type of photo I am taking, then adjust ISO to allow for a fast enough shutter speed, if necessary.  Or not, if the camera is on a tripod.

So if I had the chance to go back and take more photos in Singapore?  I’d look for access to more viewpoints like this. All three of these photos were taken from the same spot, so imagine what I could get using different locations.  I got some shots walking around at street level, but that’s not my strength as a photographer.  I was also wary of shooting people, being in a foreign country with strict rules I knew almost nothing about.  I would also search out more of the island’s natural areas, since that is more up my alley (nature and landscape photography, not so much city and street photography).

2 thoughts on “Singapore from a Motel Window

Leave a Reply

