First RAW Shoot

It’s been raining non-stop for a week here in western Washington State.  At least it feels like it.  Every opportunity I have to get away from work or other obligations, it’s raining enough to put my camera or lenses in jeopardy. But when I can’t get out, I like to go back and look for old photos I didn’t choose to edit and post the first time around.

These photos are from the first time I shot an outing using RAW images in 2011. This was with my old Canon EOS 10D, which has since been converted for infrared photography. Since then, I’ve owned a used EOS 50D (which broke after a year), an EOS 7D (amazing camera!) and now the EOS 6D (no substitute for full frame).

SunsetOnCascades

Sunset on Cascades – 40mm, 1/180 @ f/8.0

This view looks east from Crystal Peak.  I passed this photo over the first time because it didn’t have a strong central focal point, and there were ugly ski lift structures in the bottom of the photo. But what I saw the second time was the color contrast between the sunset reflecting on misty clouds over the mountains and the darkening blue sky.

RisingMoon

Rising Moon – 40mm, 1/160 @f/4.0

This photo was facing the same direction a little later in the evening.  What attracts me to these two photos is the colors.  Facing away from the sunset, the colors of the sunset were visible in the opposite direction.  I really like how the warmer colors give way to a cooler blue higher in the sky.

RainierV

Rainier in Clouds – 26mm, 1/180 @ f/9.5

I passed over this photo the first time around just because it was vertical, and I thought the horizontal versions looked better.  True, but look at the depth in this photo!  This looks like something out of a fantasy movie.  Lord of the Rings or something.  Right before I got this shot, the ridge I was standing on was covered in swirling mist and fog. Like a magical revelation, it parted just long enough for me to grab a few quick shots.

RainierSunset

Rainier Sunset – 32mm, 1/180 @ f/9.5

This photo probably got passed over because the wider angle shots looked more impressive at first glance.  But I still like this closer version.  As a Christian who believes in Creation, it’s moments like these that cause me to be in awe that several thousand years after the great flood ravaged the planet, God’s handiwork is still so breathtakingly beautiful and powerful.

One thought on “First RAW Shoot

  1. A great series of photographs of a place that means a lot to me, and it made it a beautiful way to bring in the New Year. ~A great post and best to you with your writing and photography in the New Year. Cheers to a great 2016.

Leave a Reply

