Scenes in Infrared – NNWR

NNWR-040216-1

Path through the Grove – 17mm, 1/20 @ f/11

Spring is here. Leaves are coming out on tree branches.  I took a walk at the Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge.  Mid-day in bright sun is a good time for infrared photography.  The photo above contrasts the dark tree trunks and path with the grass and leaves which turn white with infrared radiation.  These photos were taken with my converted Canon EOS 10D.  12 years old and still taking great photos.

NNWR-040216-3

Twin Barns – 120mm, 1/45 @ f/11

Here’s the two barns and the tall trees which don’t have leaves yet.  I just sold my Canon 70-200mm f/4L lens and got the Canon 70-300mm f/4-5.6L.  This photo is an amazing example of how well the image stabilization works!  I should not be able to get a sharp photo at 120mm and only 1/45th of a second. I was standing in the wind, no sniper breathing or concentrating on a slow shutter squeeze. I’d say the IS works great.

NNWR-040216-2

Outstanding in the Field – 33mm, 1/45 @ f/11

This is interesting.  Live trees with bark seem to turn black or at least very dark in infrared light. This dead snag is actually reflecting infrared rays, rather than absorbing them.  But it contrasts nicely against the dark sky.  The small new leaves on the pair of trees to the right also show up very light, as foliage does in infrared photos.

I’m headed up into the San Juan Islands in the morning, so I expect my next several posts will feature photos from that trip.

 

Leave a Reply

