San Juan Islands

SanJuanIslands-1

Sailboat on the Sound – 221mm, 1/350 @ f/9.5

I shot this photo of a sailboat under Mt. Baker from a ferry headed to Orcas Island.  It’s one of the first shots I got with my new EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6L lens.  It’s thicker and heavier than my previous 70-200mm f/4L, but I love having image stabilization at long focal lengths, and the optical quality is great!  It renders colors and details very nicely.

SanJuanIslands-6

San Juans – 29mm, 1/60 @ f/8.0

I shot this photo with my trusty EF 17-40mm f/4L, and cropped the bottom and the top to create the panoramic aspect ratio.  The photo is taken from the top of Mt Constitution on Orcas Island. You can see Blakely Island straight ahead, with the edge of Cypress Island on the left, and Lopez Island on the right.

SanJuanIslands-2

Baker over Chuckanut – 135mm, 1/250 @ f/8

Actually, I think most of the town visible in the middle-left of the photo is Bellingham, but the area on the far right is Chuckanut. According to a historical site I ran across, “Chuckanut” is a “native term” which means “a long beach far from a narrow entrance”.  That’s not nearly as intriguing as it sounds in English!  I was imagining native kids throwing nuts at early pioneers or something.

SanJuanIslands-7

From Mt. Constitution – 26mm, 1/45 @ f/11

You can’t really see west from the top of Mt. Constitution, as trees block the view, but I am sure it’s spectacular.  The view above looks east.  I can’t help that Mt. Baker makes photos more interesting, but it shows up in 3 out of these 4 photos.

I’ve been wanting to do this trip for a long time, and I’m glad I finally got to go.

One thought on “San Juan Islands

Leave a Reply

