Zion National Park – Overlook Trail

zionnp-1105162

Zion NP, Overlook Trail – 16mm, 1/45 @ f/11

Happy Thanksgiving!  I am thankful that I got to visit Zion and Bryce Canyons earlier this month.  I had a conference in Las Vegas and decided to extend my stay over the weekend and invite my dad to join me, in order to visit these two national parks.  This is a different type of rugged, rustic beauty that I don’t see near my home in western Washington State.

In the photo above you can see how using a polarizing filter with an ultra wide angle lens created a dark swath in the middle of the sky.  Polarizers help enhance colors in your RAW image, and give you a good starting point, but once you add enhancement while shooting, you can’t undo it.  I’ll probably be more judicious about using a polarizer in the future and depend on Lightroom for the color and contrast tweaks.

zionnp-1105161

Zion Overlook – 16mm, 1/20 @ f/11

This canyon is actually just outside Zion’s main valley, but the trail was short, and I was looking for views, not marathon training.

zionnp-1105166

Zion Mini Tree – 28mm, 1/15 @ f/11

This hardy little tree was about as tall as my waist.  I was amazed that it could grow right out from between the limestone rocks like that!

More photos to come!

Leave a Reply

