Zion – Emerald Pools Trail

zionemeraldpools-11051613

Zion Valley Road – 16mm, 1/20 @ f/8.0

I wish I had more time to explore this valley, but I was trying to cram Zion and Bryce Canyons into a weekend after a business conference in Las Vegas. The advantage was getting my flight and Vegas hotel paid by my company.  I just had to rent a car and hotel in Bryce, Utah. But I had to be back to work on Monday, so Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning was all I had.

For most of the year, only shuttle buses are allowed on this road.  We had to park out on Hwy 9 and catch the bus. We crossed the road to get to the Emerald Pools trail.

zionemeraldpools-1105162

Zion Valley – 20mm, 1/45 @ f/11

A view from the trail heading up to Emerald Pools.

zionemeraldpools-1105163

Emerald Pools Cliff – 16mm, 1/250 @ f/11

The trail passes under this cliff.  Minerals in the waterfall have left strange marking on the limestone cliff.  One of the greatest things about this valley, from a photographic perspective, is the blue skies against the orange canyon walls. Color contrast in extreme form, and it’s striking.

zionemeraldpools-1105169

Emerald Pools Creek – 16mm, 1/15 @ f/9.5

My dad met me in Las Vegas the night before.  We found a hidden trail leading to a spot above the middle Emerald Pools.  We at our lunch up here, with no other tourists around.

This is a good example of the incredible wide angle provided by the Canon 16-35mm f/4L on a full frame body. Almost got my toes.

zionemeraldpools-11051612

Virgin River – 16mm, 1/30 @ f/8

Yes, that’s the real name. Not sure if it’s appropriate anymore, but it is beautiful.  This photo was taken from the foot bridge that spans the river.  Emerald Pools was a great short hike that offered some great views.  Someday I’ll come back with more time to tackle longer hikes to higher vantage points.

Leave a Reply

