Nisqually Nat. Wildlife Ref.-Winter

blueheron-011417

Resting Heron – 300mm, 1/80 @ f/5.6

I’ve been to Nisqually National Wildlife Refuge many times because it’s right down the road from my house.  It’s a fun challenge to try to find new compositions each time I go to a familiar place.  This is probably the first time I’ve gone in January.

I am also getting better about being critical of my own photos.  I took a lot of photos of birds this last time, but only the one above has any artistic value, in my opinion.  Nice lighting, bird isn’t a tiny blip in the photo, being backlit helps the subject stand out from the background, etc.

nnwr-0114171

Rainier over Nisqually – 252mm, 1/90 @ f/5.6

I should probably point out that this is basically a snap shot.  If I was going to do a shot like this justice, I’d put it on a tripod to eliminate camera shake, shoot with aperture around f/13, manually focus with Live View.  But I was walking with the family and church friends, and the amazing image stabilization in the EF 70-300mm EF/4-5.6L saved another shot.  I like the layers in this shot, going from muddy beach to open water to frozen water to tree line to another tree line to sky and mountain.

nnwr-0114172

Icy Fields – 93mm, 1/125 @ f/8

nnwr-0114173

Nisqually Sky – 16mm, 1/60 @ f/8

The sun was just setting during this last shot, at 4:30 PM.  But I am learning that the dramatic lighting resulting from low winter sun in the afternoons means I can get more pleasing lighting earlier in the day.

Leave a Reply

